Friday, December 19, 2014

2015 Indonesian Masters Set For 23-26 April

Jakarta, December 18 - PT Bank CIMB Niaga Tbk (CIMB Niaga) as the title sponsor, Asian Tour and Professional Golf Tour of Indonesia (PGTI) today announced that the 2015 CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters will return to the magnificent Royale Jakarta Golf Club from April 23-26, 2015.

The fifth edition of the Asian Tour-sanctioned event will welcome top players from across the region as they vie for a share of the US$750,000 prize purse.

President Director of CIMB Niaga Arwin Rasyid said: “We are delighted to continue our sponsorship of the CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters which will be held from April 23-26, 2015. In its five years, we’ve had some fantastic winners in the past with Lee Westwood, Bernd Wiesberger and Anirban Lahiri in April this year. We’re all eagerly looking forward to seeing who will come out on top at the 2015 tournament.

“As one the leading banks here in Indonesia, we are committed to growing our ties with the local community through our youth development and amateur league programs in the country. The CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters has been a fantastic opportunity for the bank to give back to the community in the past three years. We look forward to working with the organizers on another fantastic event in 2015.

Chairman of Professional Golf Tour Indonesia Johannes Dermawan thanked CIMB Niaga for their continued support of the tournament. “We’re extremely fortunate to have such an active and supportive partner as CIMB Niaga. Our partnership has enabled the tournament to grow, attracting some of the biggest names in world golf to play alongside our own golfers from Indonesia. CIMB Niaga’s youth programme has also been hugely successful in developing the sport and it is wonderful to have a sponsor who is so committed to the junior game.”

The tournament will be broadcast live across the Asian Tour TV platform, reaching 625 million households in over 180 countries thereby showcasing Indonesia to a global audience.

Asian Tour Chairman Kyi Hla Han said: “On behalf of our players, I would like to express our sincere appreciation to CIMB Niaga for its wonderful support. Since its launch, the CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters has developed into a truly top-class international golf tournament that the country can be proud of. Our players are looking forward to returning in 2015 and entertaining golf fans and television viewers once again.”

Manager of International Promotion for Enjoy Jakarta Hari Wibowo, commented: “Major sporting and cultural events are a wonderful way to promote our beautiful country worldwide. The CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters is one such event. The broadcast of the tournament enables us to reach golfers and non-golfers alike, encouraging them to come and visit Indonesia.”

Hari added: “Golf tourism is extremely important for Indonesia’s growing tourism industry. Events like the CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters play a very important role in driving this traffic and the associated revenue so we will work very closely with the tournament to ensure maximum impact across the region. We look forward to welcoming all visitors to the event next year.”

Sanctioned by the Asian Tour and the PGTI, the CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters will feature 24 Indonesian golfers; 20 professionals from the PGTI and four of Indonesia’s top amateurs. Previous editions have welcomed Indonesia’s brightest professionals and amateurs such as George Gandranata, Rory Hie, Jordan Irawan, Andik Mauludin and Tirto Tamardi.

Besides fostering local talents, the tournament also has a tradition of hosting many of the world’s top golfers including the winner of the 2011 and 2012 tournament, Lee Westwood of England, four-time Major Champion Ernie Els, three-time Asian Tour Order of Merit Winner Thonghchai Jaidee of Thailand, 2011 Open Champion Darren Clarke, 2010 Open Champion Louis Oosthuizen and Ryder Cup star Victor Dubuisson of France.

The 2014 tournament was won in spectacular style by Anirban Lahiri of India when he holed an eagle putt on the last hole to defeat Baek Seuk-hyun of Korea and young Australian Cameron Smith. The victory was Lahiri’s first win outside India and his fourth on the Asian Tour.

No comments:

Post a Comment