Thursday, November 6, 2014

Visa Free Facility To Be Expanded

Jakarta, 5 November 2014 - The newly appointed Minister of Tourism, Arief Yahya, announced that the Visa Free facility, currently limited to ASEAN countries, will be expanded to include 5 more countries by 1 January 2015.

The five countries are China, Japan, Australia, South Korea and Russia. Tourists from these five countries will then be allowed into Indonesia for a maximum stay of 30 days without having to apply for a visa at an Indonesian Embassy, or pay the Visa-On-Arrival (VOA) fee of USD 35.

Besides expanding the Visa Free facility the government also plans to simplify the process to enter yachts into Indonesian waters, reducing the processing time from 3 (or more) days to a single day.

Both measures are meant to help boost tourist arrivals, with tourist arrivals expected to increase significantly in the coming years.

No comments:

Post a Comment