Friday, September 16, 2011

Third Places For Indonesian Juniors At 100Plus Malaysian Junior Open

Kuala Lumpur, Sept 15 -- Malaysia's Muhammad Azry Asyraf Noor Azam and Dottie Ardina of the Philippines claimed the 2011 100Plus Malaysian Junior Open titles today at the Saujana Golf and Country Club in Subang.

Although the final round was once again disrupted by dark clouds and rain, Muhammad Azry, 17, kept his cool to sink a birdie on the second hole play-off at the par-5 18th hole to clinch his first Malaysian Junior Open crown.

After completing the final round, Muhammad Azry and fellow Malaysian Low Khai Jei were tied with identical scores of four-over 220.

"I didn't expect to win this tournament but felt good coming into the final round. I was quite nervous when playing in the play-off and when we were tied after the first play-off hole, I told myself to keep calm in the second.

"I managed to control the game and win it," said the form four student of Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Taman Hi-Tech Kulim in Kedah who hopes to be selected for the SEA Games.

With their strong performances at this year's competition, both Muhammad Azry and Khai Jei claimed the Boy's Under-16 title while overnight leader, Jeremiah Kim, shared third place with Indonesia's Joshua Andrew Wirawan on six-over-par 222 total.

Jeremiah however, won the Boy's Under-18 title, beating Trishul Chinappa from India (227) and Indonesia's Kow Eiki (228).

In the Girl's category, Dottie blew up with a poor nine-over-par 81 today but did enough over the first two days to win the title by four strokes over India's Aditi Ashok.

Her team mate and defending champion, Sarah Ababa shared third placing with Malaysia's Loy Hee Ying with score of 11-over 227.

In the team (mixed) event the title went to India, with a score 301, 17 strokes ahead of the second placed Indonesian team of Kow Eiki and Putri Aisyah Aman (318). Third place went to Taiwan with a score of 332.

FINAL RESULTS: (Malaysian unless stated)



220 - Muhammad Azry Asyraf Noor Azam 72-74-74 (winner after play-off), Low Khai Jei 76-72-72

222 - Joshua Andrew Wirawan (INA) 72-77-73, Jeremiah Kim 69-78-75

223 - Paul San 81-70-72


222 - Jeremiah Kim 69-78-75

227 - Trishul Chinappa (IND) 77-76-74

228 - Kow Eiki (INA) 75-76-77


220 - Low Khai Jei 76-72-72, Muhammad Azry Asyraf Noor Azam 72-74-74

222 - Joshua Andrew Wirawan (INA) 72-77-73

223 - Paul San 81-70-72


231 - Albright Chong 74-77-80

234 - Ervin Chang 79-72-83

239 - Jordan Jude Tay 83-82-74



220 - Dottie Ardina (PHI) 67-72-81

224 - Aditi Ashok (IND) 73-75-76

227 - Sarah Ababa (PHI) 76-73-78, Loy Hee Ying 75-74-78


220 - Dottie Ardina (PHI) 67-72-81

227 - Sarah Ababa (PHI) 76-73-78

240 - Sheryl Villvencio (PHI) 67-72-81


229 - Nur Durriyah Damian 72-76-81

235 - Sarfina Vinota Seretharan 75-79-81

244 - Genevieve Ling 79-85-80


224 - Aditi Ashok (IND) 73-75-76

227 - Loy Hee Ying 75-74-78

233 - Xhung Tingtu (TAI) 79-75-79

Team event:

301 - India (Trishul Chinnappa 77, 76, Aditi Ashok 73, 75)

318 - Indonesia (Kow Eiki 75, 76, Putri Aisyah Aman 83, 84)

332 - Taiwan (Min Suhuang 85, 85, Tzu Hanchen 81-81)

No comments:

Post a Comment